Hip Shing Hong Extended Care to 300 Households of Subdivided Flats with “Bedbug Control Sets”

1024 667 Hip Shing Hong (Holdings) Company Limited

(Hong Kong, 26 April 2019)  According to the Census and Statistics Department’s latest figures, there are approximately 91,800 households residing in subdivided units in Hong Kong. They have been living in a harsh and disturbing environment where facilities and hygiene are poor with their flats ridden with micro pests, particularly bedbugs. In view of this, Hip Shing Hong (Holdings) Company Limited (“Hip Shing Hong”) distributed the “Bedbug Control Sets” to 300 households living in the subdivided units on 9th – 15th April with the support of Our Hong Kong Foundation, St. James’ Settlement, Christian Family Service Centre and Society for Community Organization. Hip Shing Hong also mobilized its volunteer team to visit and deliver the bug control sets to the residents of the subdivided flats in Kwun Tong yesterday, showing care to people in need.

Hip Shing Hong’s charitable campaign was an extended initiative of the “Big Little Things” Pilot Programme organized by Business for Social Good of Our Hong Kong Foundation. The programme aims to identify challenging issues in the daily life of the grassroots community and motivate corporations to help tackle each “minor problem” with innovative solutions in a week’s time, in a bid to bring the seeds of hope to the underprivileged community. Hip Shing Hong was one of the first batch of corporations supporting the pilot programme last year by providing simple yet creative solutions to help the residents to get rid of the bedbugs and alleviate other living problems. Since the little initiative was highly applauded by the beneficiaries, Hip Shing Hong decided to scale it up to reach more people in need and help improve their living environment with the distribution of “Bedbug Control Sets”.

Mr. David Fong, Managing Director of Hip Shing Hong (Holdings) Company Limited, said, “We are delighted to collaborate with Our Hong Kong Foundation and Business for Social Good to reinforce the spirit of ‘Big Little Things’ Pilot Programme and continue to sow the seeds of hope for the grassroots community.” He added, “In last year’s pilot programme, an elderly living in a subdivided unit was very gracious with the bedbug control kit given by Hip Shing Hong’s volunteer team, saying that it was very effective in controlling the bedbugs and he was able to sleep well every night and his health improved. Therefore, I hope our charitable initiative will help raise concern and encourage tripartite efforts of the government, business and NGO sectors to alleviate the poor living condition of the subdivided flat residents.”

Mr. Bernard Chan, Convenor of Business for Social Good of Our Hong Kong Foundation, said, “The ‘Big Little Things’ initiative, led by the Business for Social Good platform, aims to leverage on the creativity of the business community to help address some pain-in-the-neck issues faced by the grassroots community, inspiring hope and happiness in a small, but tangible way. Hip Shing Hong has brought the programme’s mission to life by innovating thoughtful solutions that helped subdivided flat dwellers combat bedbugs.” He looks forward to more businesses joining the ranks of “Big Little Things” and hopes that, through the concerted effort of the government, non-profit organizations and the civil society, they can write a new chapter on how the business community can be engaged in addressing social needs.

Hip Shing Hong did not only deliver the “Bedbug Control Sets” to the residents of the subdivided units through the above-mentioned three NGOs, but also mobilized its staff to take part in the charitable activity. Mr. David Fong, Managing Director of Hip Shing Hong, led the corporate volunteer team to visit the beneficiaries in Kwun Tong yesterday, and distributed a “Bedbug Control Set” for each household, which includes anti-bug mattress and pillow protectors, door bottom seal strip, bug-killing powder, bug-killing spray and bug-repelling essence, brightening up the day of the beneficiaries. In addition to helping the residents put on the mattress and pillow protectors and install the door bottom seal strip, the volunteers also demonstrated the ways to use the bug control products, showing their dedication to enhancing the comfort of the living environment of the underprivileged. The beneficiaries expressed their gratitude for Hip Shing Hong’s generosity and care. They mentioned that they would make good use of the products and hoped they could have improved living environment and better sleep quality free from the bedbug bites.

Photo captions:


David Fong, Managing Director of Hip Shing Hong (Holdings) Company Limited, led the volunteer team to visit the subdivided units in Kwun Tong, expressing care to people in need.


David Fong, Managing Director of Hip Shing Hong (Holdings) Company Limited, gave away the “Bedbug Control Set” to Mr. Chung and his family, beneficiaries living in the subdivided flat in Kwun Tong, and expressed concern on their living environment.


The volunteer of Hip Shing Hong (Holdings) Company Limited put on the mattress and pillow protectors for the residents living in the subdivided flat, helping to prevent the bedbugs from disturbing their sleep at night.


The volunteers of Hip Shing Hong (Holdings) Company Limited demonstrated to the resident of the subdivided flat the ways to use the door bottom seal strip and other bug control products.


Ms. Chan, who is visually impaired living alone in the subdivided unit in Kwun Tong, expressed her gratitude for the care of Hip Shing Hong (Holdings) Company Limited.


Mr. Wong, another dweller of the subdivided unit in Kwun Tong, shared with the volunteer of Hip Shing Hong (Holdings) Company Limited his daily life problems.


Each “Bedbug Control Set” distributed by Hip Shing Hong (Holdings) Company Limited consisted of anti-bug mattress and pillow protectors, door bottom seal strip, bug-killing powder, bug-killing spray and bug-repelling essence.

– END –

About Hip Shing Hong (Holdings) Company Limited
Founded in 1948, Hip Shing Hong (Holdings) Company Limited (“Hip Shing Hong”) is an astute property developer based in Hong Kong. With over 70 years of extensive experience in the industry, Hip Shing Hong has actively developed, built and acquired a well-diversified portfolio of properties, which consists of full serviced office spaces, upscale residential complexes, smart industrial buildings, retail stores, hotels and serviced apartments, and urban revitalization projects.

Hip Shing Hong is fully rooted in corporate social responsibilities since the early 1960’s and has donated over 500 charitable projects. In recent years, Hip Shing Hong has earned numerous accolades, including “15 Years Plus Caring Company Logo”, “CarbonCare Champion Label”, “Hong Kong Outstanding Corporate Citizenship Award”, “Meritorious  Family-Friendly Employers”, “WGO Green Office Label” and “UNMDGs Better World Company Label”. Hotel Madera Hong Kong, an affiliate of Hip Shing Hong, captured Silver Award in “Hotels and Recreational Clubs” sector at “Hong Kong Awards for Environmental Excellence” etc. Hip Shing Hong has also achieved recognitions in other areas, such as “The 12th China Golden Awards for Excellence in Public Relations Silver Award”, “HKMA Quality Award”, “Best Office Architecture Award”, etc. For details, please visit www.hshd.com.hk.

About Our Hong Kong Foundation (OHKF)
Our Hong Kong Foundation (OHKF) is a non-profit organisation registered in Hong Kong in September 2014, with the mission to promote the long-term and overall interests of Hong Kong through public policy research, analysis and recommendation. Pooling together local, Mainland and international talent, the Foundation studies Hong Kong’s development needs, offering multidisciplinary public policy recommendations and solutions to foster social cohesion, economic prosperity and sustainable development.

About Business for Social Good (BSG)
Business for Social Good (BSG) is a platform created by the business leaders in Hong Kong, with the purpose of advancing social innovation and caring for our society through creating shared value. We believe that, while creating values for their shareholders, companies can at the same time use their core competence and resources to address social issues. BSG is established by Our Hong Kong Foundation with the support of over 120 business leaders as founding members. These business leaders joined the BSG platform in their personal capacity. With their collective wisdom and influence, the BSG platform aims to become a catalyst to inspire other business leaders to join their rank for the advancement of our society.

Media Enquiries
Ms. Becky Hung
Head of Public Relations
Hip Shing Hong (Holdings) Company Limited
Tel: +852 2978-3055
Email: [email protected]

Ms. Charlee Cheng
Assistant Public Relations Manager
Hip Shing Hong (Holdings) Company Limited
Tel: +852 2978-3083
Email: [email protected]

 

    Skip to toolbar

協成行延續關愛 為300家劏房住戶送上「滅蝨套裝」

1024 667 協成行發展有限公司

【2019年4月26日,香港】 根據政府統計處最新數字,全港現時約有9.18萬個劏房住戶,長期生活在惡劣的環境中,設施不但簡陋,環境衛生亦欠佳,木蝨等小昆蟲經常出沒,日常生活及睡眠備受困擾。有見及此,協成行發展有限公司(「協成行」)於團結香港基金協助下,透過聖雅各福群會、基督教家庭服務中心及香港社區組織協會,於4月9日至15日向300家劏房住戶派發「滅蝨套裝」,同時於昨日動員企業義工隊探訪觀塘區的劏房住戶,送上滅蝨產品及關懷。

協成行是次的捐贈活動為團結香港基金旗下組織商社聚賢推出之「民生無小事」實驗計劃的延續篇。該計劃旨在探討社區民生小事,策動企業發揮創意為基層解困,從解決每日困擾基層生活的小事開始,繼而將希望的種子帶到社區。去年,協成行積極響應其號召,成為首批參與其首個實驗計劃的企業之一,並以一星期為限,以既創新又簡單的方法,協助劏房住戶解決蝨患等困擾基層生活的民生小問題。由於協成行的「小智慧」獲劏房住戶一致好評,故特意推而廣之,加推「滅蝨套裝」,讓更多基層人士受惠,協助改善他們的生活環境。

協成行發展有限公司董事總經理方文雄先生表示:「我們很高興與團結香港基金及商社聚賢合作,進一步延續『民生無小事』計劃,將幫助基層的愛心種子更廣泛地散播。」他續稱:「於去年的實驗計劃中,曾有住於分間樓宇單位的老伯伯表示協成行義工送上的滅蝨用品十分奏效,讓他每晚能安心入眠,健康也有所改善。因此,我希望協成行是次的愛心行動能引起關注,並促進政府、商界及非牟利機構三方的協作,共同改善分間樓宇單位住戶的生活質素。」

團結香港基金「商社聚賢」召集人陳智思先生表示:「商社聚賢推行『民生無小事』計劃,策動企業,利用企業力量,為基層市民解決面對的民生小事,將希望種子帶到社區。協成行為劏房戶貼心解決蝨患,正正實踐了我們成立『民生無小事』計劃的宗旨。」他期望會有更多企業加入,擴大計劃規模,藉著「官、商、社、民」合作,讓更多基層市民受惠,並成為解決社會問題新模式。

協成行除了透過上述三間非牟利機構將「滅蝨套裝」贈予劏房住戶外,更一如既往,透過身體力行支持送暖行動。協成行董事總經理方文雄先生於昨日率領企業義工隊親自到訪位於觀塘的受惠住戶,為他們送上滅蝨產品,包括:防蝨床套枕袋、門縫底保護條、滅蝨藥、滅蝨噴霧及蝨怕水,令受惠人士喜上眉梢。團隊除了當場為住戶鋪設防蝨床套枕袋及加設門縫底保護條外,更即席示範防蝨及滅蝨產品的使用方法,為協助住戶提升居住單位的舒適度出一分力。而受惠住戶均表示十分感謝協成行對他們的關懷,並會善用滅蝨產品,以防止蝨咬而影響生活及睡眠質素。

圖片說明:


協成行發展有限公司董事總經理方文雄先生與企業義工探訪觀塘的劏房住戶, 送上關懷。


協成行發展有限公司董事總經理方文雄先生向觀塘劏房住戶鍾先生一家送上「滅蝨套裝」,並關切地了解他們生活情況。


協成行發展有限公司的企業義工為劏房住戶鋪設防蝨床套枕袋,協助他們隔絕床蝨,能於晚上輕鬆入睡。


協成行發展有限公司的企業義工向劏房住戶示範門縫底保護條及其他防蝨及滅蝨產品的使用方法。


獨居於觀塘劏房的視障人士陳女士對協成行發展有限公司送上關愛表達謝意。


另一位觀塘劏房住戶黃先生向協成行發展有限公司的企業義工分享他在日常生活中遇到的問題。


協成行發展有限公司派發的「滅蝨套裝」包含:防蝨床套枕袋、門縫底保護條、滅蝨藥、滅蝨噴霧及蝨怕水。

– 完 –

關於協成行發展有限公司
協成行發展有限公司(協成行)於1948年成立,為一個扎根香港的地產發展商。協成行擁有逾70年的豐富經驗和優勢,一直積極發展、建造和收購優質物業,旗下多元化的物業組合,包括位於優越地段的智能辦公室、豪宅、智慧工廈、零售商舖、酒店及服務式住宅,以及優質復建項目。

協成行自60年代起積極履行企業社會責任,項目已超過500個。近年,集團屢獲不少獎項,包括:「15年Plus商界展關懷」標誌、「低碳關懷標籤 – 碳中和」、「企業公民嘉許標誌」、「優秀家庭友善僱主」、「綠色辦公室獎勵計劃」認證,以及聯合國千禧發展目標「環球愛心企業」標誌,而旗下木的地酒店亦獲頒發香港環境卓越大獎「酒店及康樂會所」銀獎等。此外,協成行亦於不同範疇獲得表揚,獎項包括:「第十二屆中國最佳公共關係案例大賽銀獎」、「香港管理專業協會優質管理獎」、「香港最佳辦公室建築項目」等。查詢詳情,請瀏覽 www.hshd.com.hk

關於團結香港基金
團結香港基金是於2014年9月在香港註冊的非牟利組織。其宗旨是集合本港、內地和國際精英,以香港長遠和整體利益為出發點,為香港政府、公共服務機構及廣大市民提供多元化的公共政策研究、分析和建議,務求促進香港社會和諧、經濟繁榮及可持續發展。

關於「商社聚賢」
「商社聚賢」是一個凝聚香港商界領袖,共同關心社會,集合智慧和力量,積極推動社會創新,創造共享價值的平台。我們深信,企業一方面可以為股東創造價值,同時亦可以運用其核心能力與資源,協助解決社會問題,平台的願景是將主流企業轉化成為一股推動社會前進的力量。「商社聚賢」由團結香港基金推動成立,有逾120位商界領袖參與為平台創建成員。成員均以個人身份參加,集思廣益,群策群力,並通過樹立典範,啟發更多商界精英加入我們的行列。

傳媒查詢
協成行發展有限公司
公共關係部主管
洪錦怡小姐 (Becky Hung)
電話:+852 2978-3055
電郵:[email protected]

協成行發展有限公司
助理公共關係經理
鄭靈儀小姐 (Charlee Cheng)
電話:+852 2978-3083
電郵:[email protected]

跳至工具列