Hip Shing Hong Pledges to be a “Shark-free Company”

1024 590 HSH Group

Hong Kong – 27 September, 2013 – Hip Shing Hong is pleased to announce that, in the interests of conserving the world’s marine environments, and in line with our sustainability commitments, we have pledged to be a “shark-free company”.

Our shark-free policy means that, with effect from 27 September 2013, we will not promote or support the consumption of shark fin as part of our company functions/events or any other form of corporate entertainment. Shark fin soup will also be taken off the menu at any pre-arranged company event where it was originally intended to be served.

To demonstrate this commitment, Hip Shing Hong has joined the Hong Kong Shark Foundation’s “Shark-Free Companies” Programme.

Why be shark-free?
Demand for shark fin soup is the primary driver behind unsustainable shark fishing practices and, specifically, the highly wasteful practice of shark finning. In the past 50 years alone, there has been a sharp decline in shark populations, with some dwindling by up to 90% over this period. Sharks have played a critical role in our oceans for over 400 million years yet, today, approximately one-third of all shark species are listed as threatened, or near threatened, with extinction.

Hong Kong is the centre of the shark trade – it is a fact that roughly 50% of all of the world’s shark fin is traded through Hong Kong. For this reason, Hip Shing Hong believes that it is important for Hong Kong’s companies to set a positive example by pledging not to promote or support the consumption of shark fin. We believe that, if we make a stand here, we have the opportunity to make a positive impact on a global environmental problem.

“Hip Shing Hong is one of the few property developers signing Hong Kong Shark Foundation’s Shark-free company pledge and believes that this act of corporate social responsibility is necessary,” said David Fong, Managing Director of Hip Shing Hong. Given the mounting scientific evidence on the drastic decline of shark populations, Hip Shing Hong believes that it is right for us to take a definitive stand in conserving an ever-decreasing asset of the world. Preserving the world’s marine eco-system for the world’s future generations is the right thing to do.

Media Enquiries:
Ms. Camille Lam
Public Relations Manager
Tel: +852 2978 3055
Email: [email protected]

協成行加入「無翅企業」 承諾「向魚翅說『不』」

1024 590 HSH Group

香港 - 2013年9月27日 - 協成行履行可持續發展的承諾,宣布加入「無翅企業」行列,齊心保育全球的海洋生態。

協成行由2013年9月27日起落實「無翅政策」。政策生效後,不論於任何形式的企業活動或宴會,我們都拒絕推廣及支持食用魚翅。政策生效前所安排的宴會餐單,我們亦會主動以其他菜式取代魚翅湯。

為彰顯公司推動「無翅政策」的承諾,協成行宣布響應香港護鯊會的呼籲,成為「無翅企業」的一員。

為甚麼要成為「無翅企業」?
食用魚翅湯的文化促使大量捕鯊活動,而捕鯊割鰭的捕魚模式不但不可持續,而且非常不人道。過去50年間,鯊魚的數量大幅下跌,其中一些品種的數量更銳減達90%。鯊魚在海洋存活了4億年,佔海洋食物鏈中重要位置,然而到了今天,已有接近三份之一的鯊魚品種即將或正在面臨絕種威脅。

事實上,香港可說是個鯊魚貿易中心,全球過半數的魚翅均在本港銷售或分銷。正因如此,協成行認為本地企業更應作出「無翅」承諾,向世界展示一個好榜樣。我們深信只要堅守這個理念,就可為全球環境問題盡一己之力。

協成行董事總經理方文雄先生說:「協成行屬少數與香港護鯊會簽定為『無翅企業』的地產發展商;履行這個企業社會責任是必要的。」現時,大量的科學數據都證實過分獵殺會令鯊魚的數字銳減。有見及此,我們深感要堅守立場,保育世界瀕危的鯊魚,我們相信為世界的下一代保護海洋生態是正確的。

傳媒查詢:
林慧珊小姐
公共關係經理
電話:+852 2978 3055
電郵:camillelam@hshd.com.hk