Design Competition for the Revitalization of Good Prospect Building Prize Presentation Ceremony 2010

1024 590 HSH Group

The prize presentation ceremony of Design Competition for the Revitalization of Good Prospect Building organized by Hip Shing Hong Group of Companies (HSH) was spectacularly held yesterday to commend the outstanding achievements made by the participants.

HSH, in response to 2009-10 Policy Address on “Revitalization Scheme”, organized a design competition for the revitalization of its industrial building, Good Prospect Building, and invited full-time architectural students from local universities to join the competition in May 2010. The competition, the first of its kind in Hong Kong, aims to stimulate, reward and implement the student’s innovative thinking and ideas in revitalizing the building into a green, vibrant, exciting art and culture plus office building.

The competition was well-received and all submitted projects went through a vigorous screening process. A panel of judges was to evaluate the projects based on how green strategies, systems and technologies are integrated in an imaginative manner, resulting in a user-centric architecture that is functional and in sync with social and cultural demands of the context.

The award winner was Patricia Ng, a year one student in the Master of Architecture Program at the University of Hong Kong. Patricia was inspired by the exuberant and attractive streetscapes of the European towns which are composed by numerous front façade of individual houses and thus developed the theme of “street” into the building and proposed to divide the building surface into different modules. This strategy would successfully embrace the concept of revitalization, sustainability and green design, maximize the building’s use of space, as well as bring in a new concept of modern life.

“Green and sustainable design is an increasingly crucial reality for practitioners in the architecture, engineering, construction and property industry. The purpose of the competition is to raise awareness, particularly among the next generation, of the important role high quality urban design plays in creating not just beautiful buildings, but green and living environments” said Mr David Fong, Managing Director of HSH cum the jury’s chair. “It is delighted that the competition has quickly become the preeminent platform for green aspirations in the college. All winning projects are vibrant, unique and innovative. The proposals even demonstrate the feasibility of the revitalization plan and embrace the concept of green and social harmony.”

List of Awardees:

Champion:  Miss Patricia Ng
Master of Architecture (Year 1), the University of Hong Kong

1st Runner Up:  Miss Alice Wong
Bachelor of Social Science (Architectural Studies) (Year 3), the Chinese University of Hong Kong

2nd Runner Up: Mr John Ip
Master of Architecture (Year 1), the University of Hong Kong

3rd Runner Up: Mr Kelvin Tang
Bachelor of Arts in Architectural Studies (Year 3), the University of Hong Kong

A total amount of HK$16,000 cash prizes would be awarded to the winners.

HSH has fulfilled its corporate social responsibility and engaged in nurturing the youth for many years. The revitalization of Good Prospect Building is not just to increase its economic value, but also to benefit the community and promote a visionary architectural design trend for the upcoming revitalization developments.

「活化好景大厦设计比赛」颁奖典礼 全港首个活化工厦设计比赛 激励与奖赏学生创意思维

1024 590 HSH Group

协成行集团 (协成行) 于2010年10月21日圆满举办「活化好景大厦设计比赛」的颁奖典礼,嘉许表现出色的参赛者。

协成行积极回应政府2009-10年施政报告所提出的「活化工厦」计划,特于2010年5月,邀请在本港大学就读建筑课程三年级或以上的学生参加活​​化其工厦「好景大厦」的设计比赛。此比赛为香港首个活化工厦的设计比赛,目的为激励和奖赏学生运用创意思维,并实践他们的意念,将好景大厦打造为一所环保、充满生气及具艺术和文化色彩的商业大厦。

「活化好景大厦设计比赛」反应踊跃,所有参加的作品均经过严谨的审核程序。评审委员会会考虑作品如何将想像力与环保策略、系统和科技结合,创造出一个符合用家需要又可行的建筑方案,同时亦能满足社会和文化要求的设计而选出得奖作品。

是次比赛的冠军得奖者为于香港大学就读建筑硕士课程一年级的学生吴东欣。她的意念取自欧洲小镇独立而外观各具特色的建筑物,形成色彩丰富和引人注目的街景。吴东欣把「欧洲街道」的概念应用到其设计上,将好景大厦的外观分为多个不同的组件,成功将活化、可持续发展和环保的元素融为一身,不但增加大厦的可用空间,亦带出了一个崭新的城市生活概念。

协成行集团董事总经理暨评审委员会主席方文雄说:「绿色和可持续发展的设计无论在建筑、工程、建造,甚至地产业界也担当着一个愈来愈重要的角色。协成行希望透过活化工厦的设计比赛,提升大众,特别是下一代于这方面的意识,让他们了解到高质素的城市设计不止是创造外观亮丽的建筑物,也需重视环保和四周环境生态的融合。」方文雄续说:「我们很欣然是次比赛在各大学校园建立一个平台,让学生发挥对环保的抱负。他们的活化计划可行性强,同时亦成功地展示出绿色和社区和谐的概念。」

协成行多年来一直积极履行企业社会责任及培育年青人。 「活化好景大厦设计比赛」不仅为增加物业的价值,亦希望造福社区及为日后的活化工厦发展创立一个具远景的建筑设计潮流。

得奖名单如下:

冠军: 吴东欣小姐
香港大学建筑硕士课程一年级

亚军:  王翠君小姐
香港中文大学社会科学学士(建筑学)课程三年级

季军:  叶建成先生
香港大学建筑硕士课程一年级

殿军: 邓智俊先生
香港大学建筑学士课程三年级